Someone Else’s Birds

 

Check out the news – I can’t believe my eyes
Someone’s had Long-tailed Duck at Riverside?!!
Uh-oh, uh-oh

I find I’m knocking on a distant door
Calling on memories I have known before
Uh-oh
Oh,oh,oh,oh-oh,oh,ohh…

I’m chasing someone else’s birds again
ID I feel a need to learn again
For ducks and wildfowl I yearn again
I’m chasing Someone Else’s Birds

Of course it wasn’t there when I arrived
They never are so I am not surprised
Uh-oh, uh-oh

I thought I saw it but the light was bad
Another Little Grebe is all I had
Uh-oh

I’m riding someone else’s luck again
Pretending I don’t give a f*ck again
I guess I’m dipping Long-tailed Duck again
I’m chasing Someone Else’s Birds

Waking up under the Saturday sun
The news is good again – I’ll take a run
Uh-oh
It’s such a splendid way to start the day
Showing well no more than yards away!!
Uh-oh
Oh,oh,oh,oh-oh,oh,ohh…

I’m watching someone else’s birds again
That old familiar glow has stirred again
Echoes of thirty years are heard again
I’m watching Someone Else’s Birds!!

Leave a Reply

