Patchwork birding – Jan 15th. Some thoughts.

Added quite a few odds and ends in the past week, bringing the total so far on the patch this year to 58.
Which sees me now 11th out of the 30 people taking part this year in Hampshire. That’s the best I have ever finished, but it would be nice to make top ten.

It’s so easy to overlook birds, even with my experience. Simple observation seems to be my biggest downfall – I can identify things well enough, but it’s seeing them in the first place that I must be struggling with. It also has a lot to do with luck and being in the right place at the right time.
I have a theory that for every bird reported to the various committess there are at least as many that aren’t, like me – seen by people who don’t submit records. And if you add that to the number that probably just don’t get seen I reckon that bird reports and committees etc only have about 30% handle on what actually goes on out there…

For example, this year already others have reported on my patch:

Great crested Grebe
Teal
Water Rail
Barn Owl
Woodcock

That’s 10% of the number of species I have seen myself. I’ve been ‘out’ on four or five days, that’s less than 30% of the time.

Probably means little of any significance, but I do find the arrogance of some Bird Alerts and rarities committees etc quite amusing…

The most recent addition came at lunchtime today when I added CHIFFCHAFF at last – one popped into the Christmas Tree we potted out last weekend. Also recently added Curlew, Redshank, Pheasant

It’s important to get the basics, so it’s been interesting so far.

But it really seriously needs to get cold. Where are all the winter thrushes??

Leave a Reply

